+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Wireless Networks Thread, ISA Server 2000 & Linux based clients in Technical; We have windows Small business server 2003 installed with ISA server 2000. All the windows based clients work fine with ...

Thank Post

Angry ISA Server 2000 & Linux based clients

We have windows Small business server 2003 installed with ISA server 2000. All the windows based clients work fine with no problem in accessing internet or using email clients. The problem is with Linux based clients (Fedora core -6). The problems are following -
    1. If the browser is configured to use the proxy, internet can be used without any problem however the users fail to browse the internal websites (e.g. EduGeek.net, etc) (created by adding cnames). IF the proxy settings are removed, the internet cannot be accessed but all the internal websites works fine
    2. Evolution email client does not work at all (the connections time out)
    I am new to Linux and therefore have failed to resolve the problem till date. Any help in this regard would be highly appreciated.

Thank Post
    Im not a linux guru but i assume its the same as windows settings, if your websites are referenced internal (why you'd do this for external sites i dont know?) you will have to put an exception in the browser to bypass the proxy for those sites, this is under Proxy settings in IE and Network settings in Firefox.

3. Thanks to mcloum from:

Rajesh (18th April 2008)

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    There should also be a way to instruct the proxy that the sites are internal. So it can see them too. That way you don't need exceptions. On squid you use the 'always_direct' configuration setting to do this, but I'm not familar with ISA server so I can't help there.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,463 Times in 980 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Not an expert with ISA but we have ISA 2003 at one of my schools that I have some knowledge of.

I think we achieved this by having a two web chaining rules.