+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Wireless Networks Thread, 100mbps & 1GBps in Technical; might be a stupid question but im a newbie at networks, im just wondering all the computers including servers are ...
    Thank Post

Question 100mbps & 1GBps

might be a stupid question but im a newbie at networks, im just wondering all the computers including servers are runing at 100mbps. if the servers where set to 1gbps the workstations wouldn't they load up the profiles, gpo and work quicker?
    if this is so how would i go about changing the speed? - will i need new hardware (switches, routers, network cards) or would it be a simple thing like changes a setting?
    any help would be appreciated

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,313 Times in 1,789 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Yes, an increase in link speed to servers should speed things up. You would need the the switch to have 1GB ports. Also, it kinda depends on the way your network is structured. Do all switches connect to a single core switch? Are the servers on a separate switch?

Ideally, you'd want every switch to connect back to the core via a 1GB link.

Thank Post
    Your set up will only be as fast as your weakest point, if all your switches cables and your core are set for 1gb and your server NIC is set for 100mbs then the fastest that will any computer will receive comms from your server is 100mbs.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by strawberry View Post
    Your set up will only be as fast as your weakest point, if all your switches cables and your core are set for 1gb and your server NIC is set for 100mbs then the fastest that will any computer will receive comms from your server is 100mbs.