+ Post New Thread
Wireless Networks Thread, Cisco Pix 515e in Technical; Hi guys, I'm new to Cisco technology but am very accustomed to firewall setup/configuration/maintenance. I have a Cisco Pix 515e ...

Thank Post

Cisco Pix 515e

Hi guys,

I'm new to Cisco technology but am very accustomed to firewall setup/configuration/maintenance. I have a Cisco Pix 515e and I need to add a port forward. I've read on the following like that I can use a GUI type interface called Cisco Adaptive Security Device Manager (ASDM):

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/secu.../instal_p.html

However a note there says "To use ASDM, you must have a DES license or a 3DES-AES license". What's the situation with this?

I also do not have the ASDM web configuration tool software. I'm also getting confused between the ASDM and the ASDM launcher. Any advice or pointers in the right direction greatly appreciated

Thank Post
    Right.

The License thing is really misleading, it's free you just sign up for it on the Cisco site.

ASDM runs on the PIX itself but there are two ways to access it.

You can install the ASDM Launcher on a machine and use this so ASDM will be in it's own seperate window.

Or you can browse to the device in IE/Firefox and ASDM will run in Java in it's own window.

It doesn't make any difference which you use, but if you were going to have a lot of devices running ASDM then the launcher would enable you to just select which you wanted from a drop down list.
    Last edited by mrforgetful; 24th January 2008 at 02:23 PM.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Do you have an original 515 or a 515E?

Thank Post
    Hi guys, first of all thank you for your quick responses!

@mrforgetful- I have tried browsing the device via http and https (even tried using /admin on the end of the url) but no joy. I assume this is because the firewall was never configured for access this way. I remember reading that an ASDM file or flash has to be uploaded to the pix for it to work.