+ Post New Thread
Wireless Networks Thread, Ghost and Network Cards - Complete Novice in Technical; I need to take an image from one of our older PCs. These are Windows 2000. I haven't taken an ...
    Thank Post

Question Ghost and Network Cards - Complete Novice

I need to take an image from one of our older PCs. These are Windows 2000. I haven't taken an image of these since our domain changed when we acquired a new Suite of XPs and a Server 2003 network upgrade.

We image the XPs across the network, booting from LAN and using Learning Network Manager to manage the images. I can boot from LAN from the older computers, but, after running Sysprep (the version that came with Win2000), when I try to take an image I get a message saying there is no information about the network card and the imaging aborts before even getting underway.

We have Ghost32 installed on the server.

Previously, these machines were on a Viglen network. We imaged these by multicast with ghost on the server and a floppy disk in the client. We have two sets of floppy disks for the older machines, as there are two different builds with two different network cards.

I guess I am missing the Ghost software from the Win2000 machines. I also imagine we are only licensed for the number of floppy disks we have for them.

Is there a combination of booting from LAN and floppy disk in drive that i can use?? What are my options here?? Could I still use the Multicast method instead?? (Basic English please and as much detail as possible).

Thank Post
    when you do a sysprep, you need to tell the image that there are different drivers for the NIC. the location needs to be specified in the sysimage.

This is the technet guide to using sysprep.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by StewartKnight View Post
    when you do a sysprep, you need to tell the image that there are different drivers for the NIC. the location needs to be specified in the sysimage.

This is the technet guide to using sysprep.