+ Post New Thread
Wireless Networks Thread, Hi, I am a WiFi trainer and engineer, happy to answer questions. in Technical; Hello Everyone. I am a WiFi trainer and field engineer. I know there is a lot of confusion about WiFi ...

Thank Post

Hi, I am a WiFi trainer and engineer, happy to answer questions.

Hello Everyone.

I am a WiFi trainer and field engineer. I know there is a lot of confusion about WiFi training and the use of professional tools in the field, so I thought it might be useful for me to offer to answer any questions anyone may have. This isn't a sales opportunity so please no questions on costs or where to go to get these things.

Feel free to ask about CWNP certifications, AirMagnet, or why professional surveys cost so much.....

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,570 Times in 1,786 Posts
    Thank you, @neilmac
    It will be very useful to be able to pick your brains about all things related to wireless

Sir

Thank Post
    Hi Neilmac,
    Thanks for your generous offer of help. I have recently inherited an ageing network and am having particular problems with AP's in my school. We have around 40 yet in some parts, rogue ap's have started popping up as networks around areas which have started completely dropping connect to the point of being unusable. Could you spare a moment to share some of your tips on how you would start to troubleshoot these area of the school? I have teachers needing to take registers with the school's MIS on laptops!
    Thank you.
    Tim

Sir

Thank Post
    dropping 'connections' rather! :-/

Thank Post
    Yep, for sure.

As with a visit to the doctor, first we need to diagnose before we can cure, so we start with getting an understanding of the environment.

The first thing you have to do is take a site survey, where you plot coverage against a floor plan. Do you have any tools available for that ?

Secondly, what access points do you use ?

NM

Sir

Thank Post