+ Post New Thread
Wireless Networks Thread, Choosing an Access Point? in Technical; Hello all, I am a tech at a small school district. I am perplexed and need somebody to explain the ...

Thank Post

Choosing an Access Point?

Hello all,

I am a tech at a small school district. I am perplexed and need somebody to explain the differance between Super Expensive Access Points and cheap ones. We are looking to expand our Wireless throughout our school and I have been researching Access Points. The Ubiquiti UNIFI everyone seems to love, and the Meraki. These also use the "cloud software". Still not sure exactly what that means. But in looking into Access Points people seem to love these ones and I know at my last job we used Cisco Aironet AP's, what I don't get is that the Cisco AP's are INSANLEY more expensive. What is the reason for this Price Hike and do I need something that expensive?

Thanks for any info,
    -David

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,140 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Meraki's "cloud" controller means every access point when plugs in looks to the meraki servers for its configuration downloads it to the ap and runs it (and keeps checking back every so often).

You have to pay a yearly fee for the cloud controller but the software and AP's work really well.

Find a US reseller (or go direct) they will arrange a demo.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by dmh1083 View Post
    Hello all,