+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Wired Networks Thread, New network: switch recommendations in Technical; I have little knowledge when it comes to switching so I'm looking for recommendations for suitable switches for a new ...

Thank Post

New network: switch recommendations

I have little knowledge when it comes to switching so I'm looking for recommendations for suitable switches for a new build primary school (one form entry in the first instance but likely to increase in the future). Third parties will be using the site too so will need to be able to separate parts of the network as I guess many others do. HP switches have been quoted as part of the build but with the absence of model numbers on the paperwork (I've asked and currently waiting on more info), I'd like to be a little ahead of the game! What would you spec that would provide a good infrastructure for the future but not overkill in the money stakes?

Cheers,

Dave

Thank Post
    Are you able to supply further detail? Maybe a network diagram and an idea of the volume of users etc aswell as how you plan to interconnect the switches e.g fibre or copper?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,572 Times in 1,252 Posts
    For a Primary school, HP switches are generally recommended and typically come with a lifetime warranty too.

Recently I installed some 2910al series at a few sites and they're excellent switches. Alternatively there's the 2810 series or the 2610 series.

The 2910al and 2810 series are gigabit switches and the 2610 a 10/100 switch.

Other considerations are PoE for Wireless Access Points (WAPs). Planning ahead and buying at least one switch with PoE can make managing and indeed powering WAPs considerably easier!

4. Thanks to Michael from:

djones (29th April 2012)

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    It depends entirely on the anticipated network capacity as to which switches you should go for.

Thank Post