+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Microsoft training advice in Technical; I'm looking at becoming Microsoft certified, and wondering if anyone could give me some advice. At the moment I am ...

Thank Post

Microsoft training advice

I'm looking at becoming Microsoft certified, and wondering if anyone could give me some advice.

At the moment I am a standard IT Technician working in a 11-18 school. I am 23, but I don't have much real word experience, some 3 years in total.

Virtualisation is something that's really interesting me at the moment, such as Citrix, VMWare or Terminal Services. However I don't know what basic Microsoft qualifications to get, or whether they would be necessary for virtualisation.

Is it worth getting Microsoft qualifications first, as at the moment I am pretty ropey on setting up servers, etc. I could blunder my way through it, but like I said I don't have any experience or knowledge in it.

Can anyone help me decided what, if any, Microsoft qualifications would help me?

zag
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    I personally wouldn't bother with Microsoft certifications myself and I've been in the industry 10 years now.

They are nice to have but real world experience is much better(a lot of the Microsoft teachings have little relevance to the real world and are purely technical, sometimes frustratingly so)

This doesn't mean they are not worth it, just that I think your time could be spent better doing something else like a computer science degree or building a test network yourself.

I learnt about virtualization in 2 days just reading the internet and installing a 2008 R2 server, its actually incredibly simple when you get down to it. Hyper-V is just a role you install and has very few options.

EDIT: I learned alot from this site actually http://virtualboytv.com/default.aspx
    Last edited by zag; 24th November 2011 at 03:37 PM.

Thank Post