+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Adware Winlogin.exe in Technical; Hi I am new to edugeek and would like to know if anyone can help me with an issue. My ...

Thank Post

Adware Winlogin.exe

Hi I am new to edugeek and would like to know if anyone can help me with an issue. My computer is currently suffering from spyware and adware possibly something I downloaded to my computer . I would like to know what would be the best way to get rid of the spyware. I am currently using windows defender, avg and mcafee to delete spyware. It removes the spyware but however I believe it has deleted my winlogin.exe, as it found it to contain a trojan. I have researched this and it says that winlogin.exe is the name used by IRC trojans to try and invade your computer through spyware. What would be the best cause of action from this point, as during the boot process my computer requests a book disk and during startup comes up with an error about winlogin.exe being missing.

VGeek

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Re: Adware Winlogin.exe

I'd suggest you backup your data. Format the machine and reinstall windows either from original disks, OEM restore disks or from an image (if you have one).

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,648 Times in 2,049 Posts
    Blog Entries

I concur with Geoff

Thank Post

Also... have you read this page:

http://www.dougknox.com/xp/utils/xp_winlogin_remove.htm

You may also want to run the tools found here:

- http://www.spybot.info/en/download/index.html [scroll down to the actual download section - remember to update it after opening it]

- http://www.lavasoft.com / http://www.download.com/Ad-Aware-SE-...bj=dl&tag=top5

Unlike antivirus programs, Never use one spyware scanner - but be sure to use trustworthy ones. Windows Defender is one, but it misses things that the other two I've mentioned find.

Regards
    Nath.

Thank Post