+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, windows update in Technical; I'm the new techie and this is my first time working at a school. Unfortunately I have inherited an unstable ...

Thank Post

windows update

I'm the new techie and this is my first time working at a school. Unfortunately I have inherited an unstable network with extremely precarious servers - no documentation and no handover, security is noticable by its complete and utter absence - no patch management - antivirus 13 months out of date and only installed on a small handfull of clients, etc etc. phewwww.
    Running hfnetchk on the servers revealed that many patches are missing. My query is - what is the best policy on patching servers. We can't test anything - and servers typically are multirole machines (SQL, Exchange and whatnot). I'd like to deploy WSUS across the network but as far as the servers are concerned it's not unheard of for patches to break exchange or SQL. The last place I worked everything was tested, but this really isn't viable in a school is it?

Thank Post

Re: windows update

I use WSUS all across our domain and that includes the servers. I configure WSUS to install automatically all Critical Updates and all Security Updates at the time i specify.

As for the stuff f like Service Packs and major updtaes to say SQL and Exchange I manually cofigure thees. I wait till i have had chance to test these updates and then install them as and when i am ready. In you case if you have no where to do any testing i suggest you keep your eye on newsgroups and forums to see the sort of feedback other users give and then deploy when you feel confident, maybe eventually come to bite the bullet and see.

Thank Post

How on earth do you get the time to test updates LOL.

Actually, it sounds like its just a case of common sense. Anyway - cheers for that

Thank Post
    Blog Entries