+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows Thread, How do you learn/revise? in Technical; Hi All I am probably right in guessing that most people here have taken a course or studies MS as ...

Thank Post

How do you learn/revise?

Hi All

I am probably right in guessing that most people here have taken a course or studies MS as some point. My question is, when it comes to revising for a course and performing practises, how do you do it without hands on?

For example I am currently studying for the 70-620 Vista exam (don't hate on me, work are paying and it's toward my MCITP:ESA). I want to do these practises properly but I don't have the Vista Ultimate media. I will soon need to work on Windows Server 2008 but also do not have access to this anywhere!

So how does one get hands on? I was going to try to use Vista Ultimate for the practises during it's trial period then delete it when finished but I cannot get hold of the DVD. I will never be able to get a Server 2008 DVD.

I could buy the operating systems but I only want to try them for about a week or so then I have no use for them.

Any advice appreciated (this is my first exam by the way, hence the n00bness).
    glennym

Thank Post
    Hi gl3nnym,
    Maybe if you get the Microsoft Virtual PC, (which is free), you may be able to find a .VHD of Vista from Microsoft, or a 30 day trial or something.
    Sorry can't be more helpful than that, it is what I would try to do.

3. Thanks to swhymark from:

gl3nnym (30th September 2010)

Thank Post
    Virtual machines all the way!

If work are paying towards a qualification, surely they appreciate you need to be able to practice on the OS, rather than just read about it? Have a nice word with the business manager.

5. Thanks to AyatollahPies from:

Thank Post