+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows Thread, PDAs in a classroom in Technical; Some bright spark here has had the idea of getting a batch of PDAs for every year 7 student. They ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

PDAs in a classroom

Some bright spark here has had the idea of getting a batch of PDAs for every year 7 student. They will then all use these all the time to encourage handwriting etc (because obviously a pen and paper doesn't).
    I've never used a PDA before, so know nothing on the specifics.
    Will it be able to authenticate with our server for their username (PDA with wifi of course)? Can the version of Windows on most PDAs join a domain or are they restricted to just using the wireless connectivity as a route for internet access?
    Basically I'm looking for pro's and con's to the idea of every year7 student having a PDA

**forgot to add, what about things like AD policies, would they run ok if it were able to join to a domain, or does this then leave us open?**

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,618 Times in 1,448 Posts

Re: PDAs in a classroom

You would have no control over the pda via your gpo's as you do with your desktops and laptops.

They can log on to your wireless network using their domain username and password but I've never used that for any more than internet and email as I don't know if anything else is even possible.

Usually you plug them into a cradle and this updates them and copies stuff across to the pc as a local copy.

Ben

Thank Post