+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Redirecting Favorites Problem in Technical; I've had a look at some of the previous postings on this subject, but being new to vanilla networks I ...
    Thank Post

Redirecting Favorites Problem

I've had a look at some of the previous postings on this subject, but being new to vanilla networks I am struggling with this one. Answers will need to be very step by step! Apologies if some of the information given below is unecessary.

I have a VBScript which is used to redirect Favorites to a folder in the user's My Documents called Favourites. This is used as a login script in Group Policy (User Configuation>Windows Settings>Scripts>Logon) All our pupils log in with one username for their class (primary school setup, I know!!! ). Teachers log in with their own username. The problem is that sometimes the Favorites are redirected and sometimes the Favorites is just empty when the users log on. I have just retested this with four computers logged on as one year 3 class: two had redirected favorites and two had none. When Favorites are showing, it is definitely the redirected one and not one from somewhere else.

However, I've recently discovered that, in the share on the server, but outside of the student or teacher area, a My Documents has appeared containing only Favorites. When I tested a teacher user, they got that Favorites and not the one from their own My Documents. I have no idea where this has come from!

We have mandatory profiles for teachers and pupils. My Documents is redirected to a share on the server by group policy under User Configuration>Windows Settings>Folder Redirection>My Documents>Basic; one policy for teachers and another for pupils. In Active Directory, in the Properties of the user in the Profile tab, the Home folder is connected to S: with a path to the same shared area on the server. But as far as I can tell, drive S: isn't mapped elsewhere on the server.