+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows Thread, Password complexity for primary school in Technical; Apologies up front if this is the wrong forum but it seems as good as any! I am a Governor ...
    Thank Post

Question Password complexity for primary school

Apologies up front if this is the wrong forum but it seems as good as any!

I am a Governor for my local primary school and, since I work in the IT industry (having done support, engineering and design), for my sins I have ended up acting as some form of pseudo-ICT adviser for the school. My predecessor (who also worked in IT but as a programmer/technical writer), despite best intentions, has left the school with a far from desirable set-up and I am now trying to help sort out the various issues that they are now encountering.

The main issue they have is that their single, curriculum "server" is really a desktop PC with Windows Server 2003 installed on it, acting as a DC. It doesn't have RAID, isn't being backed up (in any meaningful sense that would facilitate a restore) and the whole user account/profile/home drive set-up is a disaster area. Suffice to say, they are now looking to put in a new "proper" server and sorting this mess out, which brings me on to the point of this post and my request for help/guidance.