+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Question about VLans.............help? in Technical; I have been asked by one of our large secondary schools to look in to implementing VLANS. I normally only ...
    Thank Post

Question about VLans.............help?

I have been asked by one of our large secondary schools to look in to implementing VLANS. I normally only help out at primary schools but one of the senior techs is off long term sick at the moment and i am going into secondaries.

I am going to be honest here and say that i am not experienced enough to be dealing with most of the secondaries as i am still finding my feet in IT Support.

I have no idea about VLANS or as i was asked to setup or split the current DHCP scope into VLANS. I don't have a clue, i would like too so i can help out but i need some help.

Can some one help me here with an idiot proof explanation or point me to some useful websites?

Thank Post

Re: Question about VLans.............help?

I can't recommend any specific links, but Cisco's website would be one of the best places to look at regarding VLAN's.

From memory though I don't think that you can simply split a DHCP scope so that it goes to different VLANs, this is because for VLANs to communicate with each other there must be some sort of routing going on.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

What's the problem your trying to solve exactly? Why does it need VLANs?

Thank Post

I recently (last summer) just broke our whole campus up into VLANS. I did this for several reasons. Its a k-12 school on a spread out campus. About 400 connected machines with wireless access points, server, IP security cameras.

The do have many advantages but in some cases its just not worth the extra effort.

Here's a cisco link. Unfortunetly cisco docs tend to get to technical in a hurry.
    http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/...h_c/xcvlan.htm

If you could explain why they feel they need VLANs if would prob. help us point you in the right direction for a solution.