+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows Thread, Wireless + CC4 = Help!! in Technical; Hello edugeek, my names rob im a network engineer in need of advice from a higher power! i'm currently in ...

Thank Post

Exclamation Wireless + CC4 = Help!!

Hello edugeek, my names rob im a network engineer in need of advice from a higher power!

i'm currently in a primary school in kent that is running a CC4 network, the school has a 24-port belden wireless switch with 12 aerials, its a very nice bit of kit...

however they are also trying to run 150 laptops on an 802.11G network,

the laptops will not pickup an ip address from the DHCP when they are switched on (1 in 10 will, sometimes) yes before i switch them on i have checked the wireless cards are on and that im within close proximity to a wireless aerial.

i feel that the problem could be with the schools dhcp but my knoledge ends there, i only have enough brain power to configure the wireless switch and expect it to work, can anyone suggest a solution as to why the laptops are not picking up an ip address and a connection,

ps. hardwired i can log in as any user and manual connect to the wireless.

any information or guesswork will be greatly appreciated

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,586 Times in 1,263 Posts
    It doesn't sound like DHCP Server is the problem as it works fine with wired workstations. If it was DHCP Server, then wired workstations wouldn't get an IP either.

I can't say I've ever heard of Belden, but I know of Belkin which sounds familiar. Anyway, back on topic, I would login to the Access Point (presumably using a browser) and make sure the IP configuration (IP of the AP, Subnet, Gateway and Primary DNS) are setup correctly. You also need to turn DHCP off on the AP.