+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, What is Desktop Redirection? Please in Technical; Hi all, Recently i have been viewing threads on this website i notice that lot of people are having trouble ...

Thank Post

What is Desktop Redirection? Please

Hi all,

Recently i have been viewing threads on this website i notice that lot of people are having trouble with Desktop (Appdata) redirection. Can someone please tell me:

1) what is Desktop (Appdata) redirection?
    2) How can i get access to these files?
    3) How can i stop redirecting Appdata?

I'm sorry i do not know information about Desktop Redirection because i am a trainee ICT Tech and i want to learn this kind of information.

Thanks in advance for your help.

James

Thank Post
    Folder redirection is a useful feature which is often used within a domain enviroment via Group Policies.

The administrator specifies a folder (shared on the network) where users who have the GPO applied to them will have their standard folders redirected to.

You can redirect My Documents, App Data, Desktop and Start Menu with different paths

3. Thanks to mb2k01 from:

James_Reed (12th March 2009)

Thank Post
    A good example for this in our case is that we redirect appdata to the local machines which have CS3 installed, since the adobe appdata can become rather large, especially when students save 500MB photos in the folders

5. Thanks to Crispin from:

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,021 Times in 1,495 Posts
    Every user in Windows has a profile which tells Windows about how you use the computer. Think of your PC at home... in your profile, you have folders containing, your desktop, application data, documents, favorites, start menu, etc