+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Post SP2 Shortcut issue in Technical; Hello all first post. I'm a 24 yearold IT technician in a grammar school in Belfast 5 months in the ...

Thank Post

Post SP2 Shortcut issue

Hello all first post. I'm a 24 yearold IT technician in a grammar school in Belfast 5 months in the job so far and enjoying the challenge and freedom compared with the low end corporate posts I've previously held.

In my spare minutes I have been preparing the rollout of our schools first new machines in 5 years. Our best current generation network is a 2k server with 2k + winsuite clients which was done a long time ago when I was a pupil at the school now I'm back 5 months in the job as technician.

a few weeks into the job I was asked to purchase 2 new suites worth of machines + servers to refresh the eldest of the schools systems. They have been boxed up until recently when I have installed 2k3 servers and started setting up everything to do an AD only secure academic network. Everything has gone great but I have aniggle that is probably going to be a registry hack to fix. I'm using mandatory profiles for students and the majority of teachers with roaming profiles for myself and a the IT teachers with the desktops and mydocuments folders mapped to home directories on the file server. When you click any desktop, quicklaunch or start menu shortcut you the the "this shortcut is in a remote location and could be potentially harmful. Run / Cancel" How do I stop this happening because it is obviously not a desirable behaviour on the desktop.