+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Streaming the Inauguration in Technical; Good afternoon all, I'm a technician for a 16 school county. Our admins just brought us the daunting task of ...

Thank Post

Streaming the Inauguration

Good afternoon all,

I'm a technician for a 16 school county. Our admins just brought us the daunting task of making sure each school has the available resources to watch the President Inauguration on Jan 20th. This might not be a problem at most schools, because the majority have Comcast cable run to their schools and deployed via distribution systems to regular TV's.

However, we have a few special cases. One school runs a IP based TV solution (SageTV) that streams TV to their classrooms through a client program. The software works, but will buckle under a heavy load (ie: all 80+ classrooms viewing the same channel at the same time)./

My boss and I are trying to look at other solutions. We're assuming that most schools might like to watch it over the internet too. We currently have video playing blocked by our firewall, but might open this up for that. This of course could bog down our network, and we're trying to ensure that there's a good viewing experience all around.

I just like to get some feedback on our fellow IT Educators out there on steps they're taking to make sure that all schools are able to watch the inauguration in the best fashion. (the less lockups the better).

Are you allowing your schools to stream from the internet or are you trying to buffer the video stream and then deploy it locally to save your bandwidth?

Look forward to hearing from you.

Thank Post
    There's an idea.... what time is it?

There are quite a number of different solutions out there, only one I can think of off the top of my head (and it's free!) - http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...er/server.aspx