+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Backout help in Technical; hey, i kinda need help, i am a college student studying IT practitioner and i have a question which i ...

Thank Post

Smile Backout help

hey,

i kinda need help, i am a college student studying IT practitioner and i have a question which i am stuggling on, i need to know a little bit about BACKOUT, i have been given a defination about it but it makes no sence at all!!! please help me

Thanks Jason

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jashworth1990 View Post
    i need to know a little bit about BACKOUT, i have been given a defination about it but it makes no sence at all!!!
    What context are you talking about - what is the definition you have been given?

--
    David Hicks

Thank Post
    Assuming you mean with regard to change control:

If a change takes 3 hrs to do, an hour to test and 3 hrs to restore to the original state, you need a minimum of a 7 hr window. At 4hrs, if it's still not working, you restore it as it was so it's working for when people need it rather than keeping hammering away at it.

Use of tools like vmware converter to test major changes beforehand saves a lot of grief and wasted time.

Thank Post
    the definition i have been given is: