+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Setting up a server in Technical; Hi I am new to this and was wondering if you could help please!!! We have a server 2003 setup ...

Thank Post

Setting up a server

Hi

I am new to this and was wondering if you could help please!!!

We have a server 2003 setup which is the domain controller, has DNS settings, DHCP, Network drives, AD accounts and does the printing handling and all pcs connected do that server.

I have a small machine i would like to setup on windows 200 server so that i can setup a local intranet as i can't on the 2003 server as we handle exchange on there too as i forgot to mention!!!!

What is the best way for me to set up this server? Do i join it to the domain as i would connect other machines on the network? And do i need to add its settings to the existing server so that i can map all drives as usual?

All new to me so please any help would be much appreciated.

Thank Post
    How many machines/users does that server handle?! The best way to do it in my eyes is to get a book from a well known online bookstore - you can pick them up for about a fiver.

Thank Post
    The server handles around 200 users and we have around 100 machines. Like i said it also handles exchange and SIMS.net on it too!!!

What books do you recommend? What is the best way to set this up? Obviously i dont want to touch the server we have at the moment as it works fine but i just want another one setup for intranet use and play around with really.

Thanks

Thank Post

Don't do it!!

The first thing I would suggest is to reconsider the entire configuration. Putting Exchange on your PDC is a very bad idea in both theory and, very often, in practice. The two simply aren't meant to go together. Adding SIMS to the mix is another notion that would fill me with dread. If at all possible, load-balance those items on 3 different servers. If you can't, the best advice I can give is to pray long and often.

5. Thanks to Gibson335 from: