+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Major Network Question! in Technical; Hi all, I'm new to all this and only joined these forums this morning! I'm an ICT Technician at a ...

Thank Post

Exclamation Major Network Question!

Hi all,

I'm new to all this and only joined these forums this morning! I'm an ICT Technician at a school and am relatively new to all this. The school does not have many computers are they are not networked - they only share the same internet connection and share a few printers, and are all part of the same Windows workgroup.

Term ends next week. Over the summer the school is bringing in a server to allow shared resources etc. I would like to know how I go about setting up the network. Including everything from the hardware, software and setting up. I am quite technically minded but just have never done this sort of thing before!

I will most likely not be on the net again until Sunday night/Monday morning so anyone who provides me with useful answers dont think I am ignoring you - all responses are welcome and appreciated!

Andy

EDIT: The school has approximately 30 desktops and 20 laptops!
    Last edited by andylyon; 18th July 2008 at 06:20 PM. Reason: More details availble

Thank Post
    If they are sharing internet and printers it would suggest that functionally connected together which makes your job somewhat easier.

I would imagine they are bringing in a server 2003 server which you need to give a static IP to in your current range that the computers are in. (I'm guessing DHCP is coming from a router?).

Asides from that, you can have a nose through here which will talk you through getting Active Directory running for you to then "join" your PCs to the domain and allow users to log onto any and all of them and access their work saved on this server etc.

Depending upon your needs, this may be too much and really all you need is a shared out folder on the server with materials in.

Thank Post