+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, DNS Scavenging - Aarrgghhh!! in Technical; Hello All. Sorry for the number of posts I'm putting up - I'm new to this schools network and there ...

Thank Post

DNS Scavenging - Aarrgghhh!!

Hello All.

Sorry for the number of posts I'm putting up - I'm new to this schools network and there are lots of problems!! See previous posts on DNS issues.

The problem that I have is multiple records in DNS for the same IP address but with different device names - e.g. I have one IP address that has 6 names associated with it!!

I have 4 domain controllers and scavenging is turned on on 2 of the four - at server level (i.e. right click server name, select Ageing and Scavenging). On these two, I've got the default settig of 7 days No-Refresh and Refresh. If I select the domain name from each server (under Forward Lookup Zones, Right Click Properties, Aging), all four are set to scavenge with the default setting of 7 days No-Refresh and Refresh.

If I check my DHCP settings, my lease time is set to 14 days. This doesnt seem right - I thought DNS No-Refresh / Refresh days should be about the same as DHCP lease times (8 days I though??)

I have manuall selected "Scavenge Stale Resource Records" on my root server and this has done the following:Visisted Zones = 4; Visisted Nodes = 561; Scavenged Nodes = 442; Scavenged Records = 783. Its obviuosly gotten rid of a lot of redundant items, but I still have lots of duplicates!!!

Help!! Should I turn scavenging off on all but one DNS Server (my root server) and set DHCP Lease time to 8 days? Or somthing else.

Sorry for the long post - but I'm kinda getting frustrated now!!

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,311 Times in 806 Posts
    Blog Entries
    I was under the impression scavenging had to be enabled on all domain controllers....

Thank Post
    You havnt got DHCP enabled on more than 1 DC have you? You can have it on more than 1 but you need to have differant scopes/exclusion ranges.

Thank Post