+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Windows 2003 Server Policies in Technical; Hiya, I'm pretty new to Group Policies and have a slight problem with what I'm setting up. I'm using the ...

Thank Post

Windows 2003 Server Policies

Hiya,

I'm pretty new to Group Policies and have a slight problem with what I'm setting up. I'm using the Group Policy Management Console rather than just the built-in stuff. I want all staff and all pupils to be tied right down on the computer suite PC's but staff to have free roam on their laptops and Administrators to have free roam over everything. I figured the best way to do this is to apply the policy which restricts access to just about everything to the OU containing the suite of computers, so I have done so but I have the following problem;

When selecting the policy in the left pane and choosing the Scope tab in the right, at the bottom if I only add staff and pupils the policy doesn't apply. Running the Group Policy Results Wizard it says that the policy is inaccessible. I found a couple of websites that say that Domain Admins need to be on any policy otherwise this happens.

When adding Administrators to the policy, it applies to the Administrators who log in to the PC too despite the fact that under the Delegation tab Domain admins don't have 'Apply policy' checked. Only Staff and Pupils have this checked.

I've got the loopback processing mode enabled too.

Can anyone help me get a policy to apply to only apply to my staff and pupils groups on a suite of PC's please? Obviously I can't apply the policy to the OU containing the pupils and then the OU containing the staff too because that would mean the staff would be restricted when they log in on their laptops too.

Thanks a lot

Stuart

Thank Post
    Loopback will apply the user settings regardless of who logs on. If you have applied settings in the computer group you will need to change them when either staff or admin logon to make them "reset" to the original configuration.