+ Post New Thread
Windows Thread, Setting up a new DC and demoting the old un to BDC in Technical; We currently have a lone vanilla Dell Poweredge 600SC Windows 2000 server which backs up to an external tape. The ...
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Setting up a new DC and demoting the old un to BDC

We currently have a lone vanilla Dell Poweredge 600SC Windows 2000 server which backs up to an external tape. The system is closing on 5 years old now.

My SLT have given me the go ahead to buy a new Windows 2003 server to bring onto line as the PDC allowing an upgrade of the old server's OS to Windows Server 2003 and demotion of that tin to a BDC role.

I have been doing this job now as long as the original server. I'm pretty much Edugeek / self taught and I'm currently distance learning an MCSA.

A couple of quotes I have had include bringing on the new server and demoting the old - one at circa £300 a day but another being £125 for the first hour then close on £90 an hour till the job is done. I'm now wondering if the set up etc. is something I should be able to achieve without bought in technical services?

Anyone got experience on this they could share / point me in the direction of please?

Thank Post
    There is no such thing as a BDC in the world of Active Directory.

All you will need to do is install Windows onto your shiny new server and run 'dcpromo' (or use the wizardy thing to assign the domain controller role). This should be sufficient but you can always check that the FSMO roles have re-distributed themselves evenly across the servers.

TBH, if you are competent, you should have no problems doing this.

3. Thanks to Ric_ from:

speckytecky (19th February 2008)

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,664 Times in 1,449 Posts
    Blog Entries

5. Thanks to FN-GM from:

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by speckytecky View Post