+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows Thread, VPN and IP Confusion in Technical; ...

Thank Post

VPN and IP Confusion

Hi everyone.

Recently I made a post about my attempts to set-up our schoolís network to be available over the CLEO VPN system. After the initial problems I was able to get the RADIUS functionality to work and so I can now authenticate with my username and password whilst using a home connection.

However, I have run into another bit of confusion and I was hoping someone would be able to help. I have never used a VPN before so Iím not sure what to expect, but when I connect I get an IP address within the 10.x.x.x range like the one issued to our internet connection from CLEO. The problem is that all of our servers work on the 172.16.x.x range.

If I am understanding things correctly, when I set up Routing and Remote Access I set my networks DHCP Relay Agent to that of my DHCP server. Is this supposed to act as a bridge to forward requests between the address I receive and that of my network? If so, I am unable to access resources by name of IP. I have found an article on here about the use of Proxy ARP. Is this something I need to configure, and if so where is it?

Thanks guys for your continued help with this. Iím under some pressure from the senior staff to get this thing up and running whilst still trying to learn and understand what Iím doing on the fly.

Cheers.

Thank Post
    Which interface is the request being directed to?

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by DMcCoy View Post
    Which interface is the request being directed to?
    The DHCP Relay Agent is set to our school's DHCP server. Routing and Remote Access and the RADIUS system are both being run from the same server. All outside requests are being handled by the vpn.cleo.net.uk servers.

Is this the information you were after?

Cheers.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mcowley View Post