+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows Thread, New IT Technician in A Primary School in Technical; Hi all, I am fairly new to the IT world and have just started a new role in a primary ...

Thank Post

New IT Technician in A Primary School

Hi all, I am fairly new to the IT world and have just started a new role in a primary school as an IT Technician to enhance my learning, however networking and servers are not my strong point. Was wondering if anyone could give me any helpful tips to point me in the right direction.

Thanks for the help.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Are they giving you any training/putting you on an apprenticeship scheme?

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by cdunn93 View Post
    Hi all, I am fairly new to the IT world and have just started a new role in a primary school as an IT Technician to enhance my learning, however networking and servers are not my strong point. Was wondering if anyone could give me any helpful tips to point me in the right direction.

Thanks for the help.
    You've done the first step, you joined Edugeek! Welcome!

I've been a Technician and then Network Manager for 8 years now and i still don't know what i'm doing.

If you've got any questions, just ask!

As mentioned, there are all sorts of courses you can go on too.
    Last edited by Little-Miss; 3rd March 2014 at 10:34 AM.

4. Thanks to Little-Miss from:

cdunn93 (3rd March 2014)

Thank Post
    Youtube learning is probably the best way to go. Create yourself a virtual environment either using VirtualBox or VMware Workstation. Make a Windows 7 VM and a Windows Server VM. Make sure the Server VM has installed roles of Active Directory, Group Policy, Printing etc... then add the Windows 7 VM to the virtual domain.