+ Post New Thread
Windows Vista Thread, Vista, RDP6, IE7 - SSLVPN in Technical; I have been using various SSL VPN Solutions for the last 12 Months including Open-SSL, Sonicwall, Netgear, Aventail and others. ...

Thank Post

Vista, RDP6, IE7 - SSLVPN

I have been using various SSL VPN Solutions for the last 12 Months including Open-SSL, Sonicwall, Netgear, Aventail and others.

Over the last few weeks I have had reports of a number of clients reporting to be having trouble connecting and using some appliances.

So, today I began testing and then very quickly discovered that Vista, IE7 and RDP6 do not work with the current release of Sonicwalls SSL appliance.
    Sonicwall like so many other hardware vendors have posted the usual advisory that Vista compatabiliy should be forthcoming in early 2007.

I suppose this should come as no surprise especially as M$ have aquired Whale Communications a major player in the SSL-VPN arena and have begun to integrate SSL-VPN into ISA, IAG and Longhorn products.

Clearly M$ have got their eyes on the lucrative SSL VPN Solutions market and Vista has made it easy for them to disable the competition with a few critical updates and the odd service pack.

If you operate any one of these SSL devices and plan to deploy Vista I would begin some serious evaluation.

The good news is the i-Mac still works with them.

Thank Post

Re: Vista, RDP6, IE7 - SSLVPN

Never attribute to....

I don't write that much code these days, but every time I write anything interesting I seem to run into MS API bugs/features.. a completely broken call in dotNet.. an unhelpful (to me) post SP2 behaviour change in a call relevant to security context switching.. and so on and so forth.