+ Post New Thread
Windows Vista Thread, laptop won't boot anymore in Technical; I'm out of ideas on this one. Given a Vista Dell laptop to fix, which bluescreens every time you start ...
    Thank Post

laptop won't boot anymore

I'm out of ideas on this one.

Given a Vista Dell laptop to fix, which bluescreens every time you start normal mode or safe mode. Repair option just restarts it. Bluescreen stop error is 0x0000c1f5.

I boot from a Linux recovery CD, ntfs-3g /dev/sda3 /mnt/windows -o force (sda3 is the C: drive judging from ls /mnt/windows.) Went to cd /mnt/windows/\$Extend and then cd \$RmMetadata with ls to display the contents and then deleted the $TxfLog file from C: which is causing the problem. Closed that and restarted. For this process, as I'm new to Linux command line stuff, I was following the instructions here. Rebooted into the Vista DVD and repair, restart, and instead of loading perfectly it scrolls a bit, then tosses up a BLACK screen of death with:

!!0x0000034!! 248/91553 (_0000000000000000.cdf-ms)

Clutching at straws, ran a chkdsk /r which didn't fix anything, from the DVD.

Any ideas anyone? Smelly laptop, smelly Vista.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,629 Times in 1,458 Posts
    Have you run any other diagnostics such as memtest?

Ben

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,572 Times in 1,252 Posts
    This article describes the problem. Realistically, extracting the hard drive, backing up data and formatting the drive appears to be the only workable fix!

Thank Post
    I had a similar issue where i was handed a Vista laptop that kept blue-screening on start-up. My solution was to check to see if it had Xp drivers available and then install XP. Solved all problems. User hated Vista, speed increased. An all-round winner

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by plexer View Post
    Have you run any other diagnostics such as memtest?

Ben