+ Post New Thread
Windows Vista Thread, Vista case studies in Technical; Hi. I'm new here and found this forum whilst searching for case studies on institutions that have decided to chance ...
    ady

Thank Post

Vista case studies

Hi. I'm new here and found this forum whilst searching for case studies on institutions that have decided to chance it with Vista.

A bit of background first; I am an IT technician for a college and my manager has asked me to look into Vista and Office 2007 deployment options. Like many here, it's not something we're looking to do for some time yet, but it is an inevitability, hence why I've been asked to take action.

I am also working towards a degree which I am doing in tandem with my job and I have opted to make this investigative research into the rollout of Vista and Office 2007 the subject for my final year dissertation project. I'm aware of the BECTA report regarding Vista and Office, but there has to be some institutions that have gone ahead anyway, and this forum seems like a likely place to find such institutions.

As such, what I am looking for is any testimonies from anyone representing an institution that has rolled out Vista and/or Office 2007. I'm particularly interested in user preceptions (staff and students), the implications on the overall IT infrastructure (hardware upgrades etc) and any issues involving training that have arisen through changing over to Vista/Office 2007.

Any information on how the "upgrade" has affected a given institution in the light of the aforementioned criteria would be gratefully received as it would help both my future deployment planning and my dissertation project.

Thanks in advance for your help.

zag
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Don't confuse Office 2007 and Vista, you are talking about 2 seperate projects here.

Vista is a long way away imo, i'm thinking maybe 2 or 3 years maybe more. It's just not ready for a rollout yet. Maybe SP2 will help