+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2012 Thread, How to Replace Windows 2008 R2 DC with Windows 2012 Standard x64? in Technical; Hi all This is my first time posting in Windows Server forum. I need advice and direction in replacing Windows ...

Thank Post

How to Replace Windows 2008 R2 DC with Windows 2012 Standard x64?

Hi all

This is my first time posting in Windows Server forum.

I need advice and direction in replacing Windows 2008 R2 x64 bit with the new Windows 2012 Standard x64 bit.

I have googled around, and the closest I found was Replacing old DC 2003 with new DC 2008.

We used our current Windows 2008 R2 as the DC, DHCP, DNS, Active Directory and File Server. We intend to take down this 2008 completely and put this 2012 in place using the same IP and ServerName as the 2008.

As I am very new to Windows Server, can someone kindly give me advice on the steps and necessary precaution to take note?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,173 Times in 900 Posts
    Blog Entries
    If this is a live environment in a school, I would be the first to ask "What on earth for?"

If it's a lab though/personal test, then you're probably going to find it easiest to do an in place upgrade. I know it's not recommended but if you have little in the way of services (i.e. just ADDS & related gubbins) then it won't cause any problems. The OS's are closely related enough for that not to be an issue.

Otherwise the procedure of migrating active directory, DHCP and DNS is no different from 2003 to 2012 with exception of the user interface.

Thank Post
    This is a live environment in my office, and we have 30+ staffs.

Quote Originally Posted by synaesthesia View Post
    If this is a live environment in a school, I would be the first to ask "What on earth for?"