+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 Thread, How do I? Vanilla 2008 in Technical; We are currently an RM CC3 school and i want to change as i see the upgrade process from cc3 ...

Thank Post

How do I? Vanilla 2008

We are currently an RM CC3 school and i want to change as i see the upgrade process from cc3 to cc4 being a nightmare from what i have seen on here.

What is involved in setting this up? I have some 2008 experience using it as a webserver.

Ideally i would like to be s2008 with w7. Is this difficult?

Thank Post
    Not to put a downer on it, it took me a year to work out how everything things vannilla wise then it took me a year to plan out my system, you have to not rush and you need to plan so you dont annoy users, I did this twice and it didnt go down well!

What you need to learn:

*Group Policy (Especially GPP, make life alot easier)
    *Active Directory
    *DNS
    *DHCP
    *Printer Management
    *Restoring Vanilla servers
    *User Management (profiles, scripting, creation etc..)
    *Package Deployment
    *Not exactly needed but virtualisation is worth looking into, especially for software deployment
    *Testing all software with Windows 7
    *Security

But mostly its planning

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by youngandlearning View Post
    We are currently an RM CC3 school and i want to change as i see the upgrade process from cc3 to cc4 being a nightmare from what i have seen on here.

What is involved in setting this up? I have some 2008 experience using it as a webserver.

Ideally i would like to be s2008 with w7. Is this difficult?
    The upgrade process from CC3 to CC4 isnt has problematic as it was but a clean install is preferable.
    Both the upgrade from CC3 to CC4 and CC3 to vanilla require planning and preperation.