+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 Thread, I have a little problem... in Technical; Hi! First of all sorry for my english, i learn, but i never master it. This is my first time ...

Thank Post

Exclamation I have a little problem...

Hi! First of all sorry for my english, i learn, but i never master it. This is my first time in the forum as member, i always use it to seek knowledge but i never write anything, and now im in a little problem and i need some help... Ok, here is the problem.

I have a Novell server in Linux in a high school in Buenos Aires, Argentina, the past few weeks my partners and i, are having some troubles in our hands, the network is growing every day, and we cant keep supporting this with only one linux server.

I can buy a new server and start again, but the problem is that the system manager wants a Windows server 2008. So we have to start from 0 and install a Windows, dont get me wrong, i always use windows, but the problem is most of the software we use in the server doesnt exist for Windows. Like Pcounter for example, and i need to find out how i can keep the things going without all the systems fall apart...

So actually i need a replacement for some of the soft... Pcounter is one, i have a network with novell, i think if i have to use windows i will create a domain, and use active directory to manage the access permissions... How do you think it will work?

Thanks for your time, and again, sorry for my english.

Good luck!

Thank Post
    PCounter works fine on Windows, We run it on a few servers/schools.

Is there any other software you're worried about missing?

In terms of the basic network yes creating a new domain, with AD managing users etc would be the way to go.

Steve

Thank Post