+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, What are the benefits of Static IP addresses? in Technical; Hi all, From previous help you have given me I see that some people start off by saying "if you ...

Thank Post

What are the benefits of Static IP addresses?

Hi all,

From previous help you have given me I see that some people start off by saying "if you have static IP addresses on all the PCs in the computer labs then....". I was just wondering what the advantages to having static IP addresses are and are there any drawbacks to setting the PCs to have the same IP address all the time.

Being a self taught server maintenance guy I only have experience of Group Policy when I've needed to do something specific rather than having trained in it and knowing it in a general sense but I would imagine it would make things easier in relation to GP? Am I right in that assumption?

I had the MAC addresses for 90% of the PCs in the college from another project last year so I set about creating reservations in the DHCP management console. I have done this for 180 of the 240 PCs so far and I've tested a couple of labs and they all take the IP address I set up for them.

The VP here in the college wants me to set up VPNs which I have no experience of but will research over the coming months. Would static IP addresses be beneficial here too?

Basically, what are the pros and cons of Static IP addresses through DHCP reservations?

Thanks for any insight.

K

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,577 Times in 1,414 Posts
    TBH I would never suggest static ip's on lab computers only servers, routers, printers , waps and even then I use DHCP reservations for most of those.

Ben

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,314 Times in 798 Posts
    Blog Entries