+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, GPOs in Technical; Nice easy one, hopefully. I used to work for a very large company in education who did things a "certain ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

GPOs

Nice easy one, hopefully.
    I used to work for a very large company in education who did things a "certain way" - this certain way was to pretty much mirror what RM did for CC3 (and later on, 4) - so GPO modelling on a vanilla setup was pretty much a mirror replacement for the CC3 systems they managed. In a nutshell, this is large single GPs per OU (so for computers in a certain area, they'd have a certain GP applied to them with just about everything else included).

Before I worked in Education (and I'll admit it was easy to switch to working to the above method), I used to abide by the MS method, and even reading up now it appears as if this is still the preferred way; again in a nutshell, a policy was made very nearly per setting, so for instance you could have many many GPO's applied to OUs/security groups/containers such as one to do printer mapping, one to do drive mapping, one to do user security restrictions, one for station security, one for startup scripts, so on and so forth.

The former method is very "clean" however not particularly easy to administer should you need to find a single GPO in one huge lump of settings unless you've gone OCD and documented each setting in each policy. So, what are people's methods here in this day and age?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,564 Times in 1,248 Posts
    You need to get the right balance. I wouldn't recommend you have 100's of GPOs, but I wouldn't recommend you have one massive GPO either.

For example, I typically have Curric GPO, Staff GPO and MIS GPOs and they're all very similar, but tweaked for that specific user group. These contain a fair few GPO settings which I know won't change at all or will change rarely.