Site Maintenance this evening The site will be offline for hosting changes. Time TBC

+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, RM CC3 to Vanilla Advice in Technical; First off let me apologise for starting another thread on RM to Vanilla but I wouldn't ask unless it was ...

Thank Post

RM CC3 to Vanilla Advice

First off let me apologise for starting another thread on RM to Vanilla but I wouldn't ask unless it was very important.
    Secondly, I am new to Edugeek so go easy on me!!! I am new to the RM network and and therefore a little lacking in knowledge when it comes to their systems.

Basically I am looking to migrate from CC3 to a vanilla network this summer so this would include migrating servers and 170 workstations.
    At present I have two CC3 servers. These servers are running on VMware ESXi 4.1 and have been running well since I virtualised them last summer. One server is the standard DC, DNS and DHCP server whilst the other is a global catalogue and storage server. Our 170 networked PC's all have the CC3 client installed.

My preferred plan is to create new virtual machines (running server 2008 R2) on a newly purchased server running VMware and migrate existing AD data and cofigurations across onto the new servers before decommissioning the old CC3 servers. For the new servers I would replicate the settings of our existing CC3 servers but without the CC3 sitting on top. I can do this in a test environment before summer and spend summer testing the network and re-imaging 170 RM workstations.
    The other option was to create new servers, new AD data, new group policies, new security rights, etc. Basically a new build from scratch before turning on in the summer and testing on the network.