+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, New network setup advice needed! in Technical; Hi, I'm soon to be installing a new server in a Primary school (to replace their 2003 server) and upgrading ...

Thank Post

New network setup advice needed!

Hi,

I'm soon to be installing a new server in a Primary school (to replace their 2003 server) and upgrading all the machines with Windows 7 (although some will still have XP). 2008 R2 will be going on the server and as I've no direct experience of this I could really do with some general advice on the best way to go about setting things up, so it does what's needed. i've listed below my initial requirements/concerns so any help is appreciated.

Just one thing though.... Please, please, please can you stick to my requirements - It's just a small Primary school, with non-ICT technical staff and my technician visit once a fortnight, so nothing that's high maintenance or likely to go wrong! Also they will be getting Windows 7 and 2008-R2, so advice for purchasing other systems is not helpful! Hope you all understand and appreciate!!!!

- Need Windows 7 and XP clients to be able to login
    - All staff and junior classes to have individual logons / infant classes to have single class logon
    - Any user to be able to login to any workstation (My issue here is I've seen Win7 be quite awkward about security permissions on who logs in where - Just need this simple and reliable)
    - Staff to be able to use their laptops off the network at home
    - Locked desktops, with "Programs" folder on the desktop, that is stored on the server with program shortcuts
    - Printers that default based on the PCs location in the school - ie. ICT suite printers print in ICT suite, if using one in the staffroom it prints to the staffroom printer.... Unsure entirely how to achieve this in Win 7
    - Private and shared user directories on the network... Again I'm only used to Netuse scripts from an NT box