+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, 2008r2 from the start, anyone? in Technical; Hi guys, my first post here, I've been lurking for a while but now I need your help, please! I'm ...

Thank Post

2008r2 from the start, anyone?

Hi guys, my first post here, I've been lurking for a while but now I need your help, please!

I'm a part-time tech in a fairly large primary school, the full time tech has been on long term sick leave for months so I am basically in charge at the moment and have been asked to work more hours, which is great for Christmas

The head has asked me to replace our ageing 2003 server with a brand spanking new 2008r2 box. This is where I need some help, I have a little experience of installing a new server but nowhere near the amount needed, I really want to learn though!

Does anyone have a set of standardised build instructions I could use as a guide?

Thanks in advance

Thank Post
    Hi,
    What roles are the servers running that you want to upgrade? I'm guessing DC's, but wanted to check first.

Thank Post
    It's fairly straight forward to install the OS but if you want things like roles installing like Active Directory, DNS, File Server roles etc etc then this takes a bit more setting up & configuring but ultimately this is done once the OS is installed.

How to Install Windows Server 2008 R2 - YouTube

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,140 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Do you run an AD Network?

Essentially you would install the server as if you would any other desktop install os, install updates, join to domain, set ip's etc < this is the straight forward part.

This part is the complicated part. If you are not confident in doing it I wouldn't or ensure you have lots of backups (possibly you could convert the machine to a VM before making any AD changes then you have an easy restore job if all else fails.)