+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, Strange folder Redirection issue. Possibly DHCP/DNS related? in Technical; We have redirected Documents and Desktop as well as Start Menu, Pictures etc. In the past 2 weeks I've had ...

Jus North of London, close but not too close
    Thank Post

Strange folder Redirection issue. Possibly DHCP/DNS related?

We have redirected Documents and Desktop as well as Start Menu, Pictures etc.

In the past 2 weeks I've had 2 occasions where the users desktop and documents are not mapping.

Both occasions I have done a ipconfig /release then ipconfig /renew and this fixes the problem without logging off.

Our DHCP server is set to give infinite DHCP leases (which I've never used or seen before) and I am thinking that this is causing the issue, anyone experienced this problem before?

Thank Post
    are you using UNC or mapped drives for the redirect, mapped drives often appear to late for the redirect to work correctly. The DHCP lease time is unusual, I limit mine to 7 days. I have 600 devices and 1022 address available but some devices (laptops) have more than 1 nic. You want a balance you don't want the DHCP server thrashing to much with crazy 5 minute leases, of filling up with massive 1 year leases.

Thank Post
    We use UNC paths
    For documents \\servername\HomeShare\%UserName%\My Documents
    For Desktop \\servername\HomeShare\%UserName%\Desktop

Yes I've never seen DHCP setup like this before, maybe a RM or CSE idea/implementation. I've recently upgraded the domain to 2008 R2 and have all Windows 7 Domain Clients. I have demoted one of the old DC's but it is still a DNS but not referenced in the DHCP options.

Would the fact that it was sorted by a ipconfig /release /renew indicate some sort of stale DNS records on clients, I have only noticed the issue since upgrading to Windows 7 in last month, having worked here since April 2011?

Thank Post