+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, GPO to disable F1 Help etc in Technical; From my searching there doesnt seem to be a GPO to do this. I can remove the help link from ...
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    735
    Thank Post
    89
    Thanked 52 Times in 46 Posts
    Rep Power
    36

    GPO to disable F1 Help etc

    From my searching there doesnt seem to be a GPO to do this. I can remove the help link from the start menu, however there's still lots of ways to get into help through explorer windows or by pressing F1 for example.
    I was thinking a software policy to disallow C:\Windows\winhlp32.exe from running would do the job. I've done this and I can still access help.

    Any ideas?

    Win 7, Server 2008 R2

  2. #2


    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    51.403651, -0.515458
    Posts
    10,005
    Thank Post
    271
    Thanked 3,029 Times in 2,232 Posts
    Rep Power
    859
    The help system in Windows 7 uses HelpPane.exe (located in %SystemRoot%).

    Winhlp32.exe isn't included with Windows by default any more (from Vista onwards).

  3. Thanks to Arthur from:

    ihaveaproblem (11th September 2011)

  4. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    735
    Thank Post
    89
    Thanked 52 Times in 46 Posts
    Rep Power
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by Arthur View Post
    The help system in Windows 7 uses HelpPane.exe (located in %SystemRoot%).

    Winhlp32.exe isn't included with Windows by default any more (from Vista onwards).
    Thanks, so do you think setting a rule to prevent helppane.exe from running will stop help?
    The strange thing is my Winows 7 Enterprise does have winhlp32 in c:\windows (I've not placed it there) and if I double click on it opens the help feature.
    Anyways i'll try blocking helppane.exe

  5. #4
    Techdw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    179
    Thank Post
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Use software restriction to disable ''HelpPane.exe'' from starting, but search the whole PC C:\ for WinHlp32.exe and add any path which the search finds.

  6. #5


    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    51.403651, -0.515458
    Posts
    10,005
    Thank Post
    271
    Thanked 3,029 Times in 2,232 Posts
    Rep Power
    859
    Quote Originally Posted by ihaveaproblem View Post
    The strange thing is my Winows 7 Enterprise does have winhlp32 in c:\windows (I've not placed it there)
    It was probably installed by some third-party software in order to open old HLP files.

  7. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    735
    Thank Post
    89
    Thanked 52 Times in 46 Posts
    Rep Power
    36
    Software restriction did the job
    Arthur, Not sure why i've got the winhlp32 because machine i'm testing GPO's on is a clean win7 build. Maybe a windows update added it. Anyways it's blocked now so it doesnt really matter!
    Thanks all=]

  8. #7
    XP1
    XP1 is offline
    XP1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thank Post
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Rename or delete "%WINDIR%\HelpPane.exe".

    Works on Windows Vista.

    Run "Disable help.bat" as administrator:
    Code:
    takeown /f "%WINDIR%\HelpPane.exe"
    icacls "%WINDIR%\HelpPane.exe" /grant Administrators:F
    ren "%WINDIR%\HelpPane.exe" "HelpPane.exe.bak"
    
    takeown /f "%WINDIR%\winhlp32.exe"
    icacls "%WINDIR%\winhlp32.exe" /grant Administrators:F
    ren "%WINDIR%\winhlp32.exe" "winhlp32.exe.bak"

  9. #8
    enjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Reading, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,500
    Thank Post
    282
    Thanked 196 Times in 167 Posts
    Rep Power
    77
    You can disable the F1 key - have a hunt for some of the threads about disabling spell checkers for exam accounts, and you should find the instructions. Let me know if you can't find them, and I'll dig my notes out...

  10. #9
    lafleur1977's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    171
    Thank Post
    128
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by ihaveaproblem View Post
    Software restriction did the job
    Arthur, Not sure why i've got the winhlp32 because machine i'm testing GPO's on is a clean win7 build. Maybe a windows update added it. Anyways it's blocked now so it doesnt really matter!
    Thanks all=]
    Hello, I have been trying to stop users opening help and support via the start menu > all programs with no success. I have tried adding c:\windows\HelpPane.exe & %SystemRoot%\HelpPane.exe to software restriction policy and disallowing them but users can still open it. Can you tell me the exact path you specified in SRP?

    Thanks

  11. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    735
    Thank Post
    89
    Thanked 52 Times in 46 Posts
    Rep Power
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by lafleur1977 View Post
    Hello, I have been trying to stop users opening help and support via the start menu > all programs with no success. I have tried adding c:\windows\HelpPane.exe & %SystemRoot%\HelpPane.exe to software restriction policy and disallowing them but users can still open it. Can you tell me the exact path you specified in SRP?

    Thanks
    Hi,
    I believe in the end I set it up to use a Hash rule instead of a file path. I will check and let you know

  12. Thanks to ihaveaproblem from:

    lafleur1977 (11th May 2012)



SHARE:
+ Post New Thread

Similar Threads

  1. IE Add-Ons - Want To Disable But Allow Flash / JS etc.
    By RichCowell in forum Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd June 2010, 11:43 AM
  2. GPO to disable right click
    By Dexi in forum Windows Server 2008 R2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th May 2010, 11:27 AM
  3. GPO to remove printer properites
    By eejit in forum Windows
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 21st May 2009, 03:27 PM
  4. GPO to clear Internet History daily?
    By woody in forum Windows
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th September 2006, 01:56 PM
  5. One PC refuses to run script! Help!!!
    By woody in forum Scripts
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th October 2005, 12:37 PM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •