+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, Bulk users and home folders - best practice? in Technical; Hi, I am setting up a new server 2008 r2 with windows 7 clients and I'm looking for a bit ...

Thank Post

Bulk users and home folders - best practice?

Hi,

I am setting up a new server 2008 r2 with windows 7 clients and I'm looking for a bit of advice on how best to bulk add students and teachers and assign them their home folders.

This is my first time setting up a 2008 r2 server and I'm getting a bit confused.

I have set up a shared folder d:\work$ and within this I have subfolders for students and staff which is then divided again into year groups e.g. d:\work$\students\2011\

I want to create the 200 users in ad, create a folder for each of them under 2011 folder, set up folder redirection and roaming profiles.

What is the best way to go about this? Should I be scripting everything, the adding users, creating folders and setting rights to the folders? or should I just be using a script to add the users to AD and using gpo to do everything else?

Thanks

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    You might find this useful... Mikey Magic's Web Site - Active User Manager

Folder redirection is/can be done purely through group policy, and folders for My Documents will be automatically made when you create the users in AD, as long as you set a Home Directory path.

I would advise setting up another share for profiles, and setting the profile path in AD for the users as well. A useful tip would be to use %USERNAME% when typing in the profile and home directory locations. For example, your 2011 students would have \\<servername>\work$\students\2011\%USERNAME% as their home directory and \\<servername>\profiles$\students\2011\%USERNAME% as their profile path.

There shouldn't be a need to script anything, but there is more than one way to skin a cat!

3. 2 Thanks to simpsonj:

cheeseslice (10th May 2011), stevenlong1985 (27th September 2012)