+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, Deep Freeze in Technical; We are migrating away from Novell to Server 2008 R2 AD this summer One of my personal goals is to ...

Thank Post

Deep Freeze

We are migrating away from Novell to Server 2008 R2 AD this summer

One of my personal goals is to remove the need for Deep Freeze! Can a computer be protected just as well via the group policies available within Server 2008 R2? (I'm not an expert on the subject by any means!).

We will be using mainly XP workstations until at least Summer 2012

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,383 Times in 1,763 Posts

Thank Post
    have you thought of trying cleanslate from fortresgrand?, it can be configured to work well with almost any anti-virus suite etc, might be worth a peek.
    much easier than group policy tweaking in my view

Thank Post
    Yes............but they also thought of the name 'Bing'.

Say no more.

Thank Post
    We are not using Deep Freeze with our Windows 7 Pro client machines and have not encountered any notable problems for the six months that we have done so.

We use a GPO to erase the user profile after so many days. This has the same effect Deep Freeze does, at the user profile level, but would not protect the client in the same way anywhere else in the file structure (in C:\windows for example).

Besides making sure students and teachers are not admins, we configure the same GPO to automatically reject UAC elevation (so the prompt never even appears).

Only downside: the CONTENT of the user profiles is deleted but not the top level folder. So we have a multiplication of folders like this:

User1
    User1.001
    User1.002
    User1.003

etc.

Logon time seems to take longer on Windows 7 than on XP when the user profile needs to be created afresh too.

EDIT - unfortunately, I do not believe the erase profile settings exists for XP (and obviously not the UAC one).

Thank Post