+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, Software Restrictions/Sophos Enterprise Console in Technical; Hi all, Having a problem with getting our Sophos endpoints up and running. If a client is protected with the ...

Thank Post

Software Restrictions/Sophos Enterprise Console

Hi all,

Having a problem with getting our Sophos endpoints up and running.

If a client is protected with the endpoint software and a user logs in that has software restriction GPO's applied to it, something blocks access to Internet browsing.

I've narrowed it down to a single GPO that contains the software restrictions, and if they are disabled (or changed to unrestricted) then the user can browse the Internet.

The message that appears is that the browser cannot connect to the proxy server.

Is there a clash somewhere? or a setting that needs amending?

I've tried fully disabling all policies but there still isn't any connection.

Strangely, as an Admin I can browse the Internet if I run Chrome with my credentials, but I'm assuming it's because there are no active software restrictions imposed on my account, and the proxy settings are taken from the registry.

Sophos Enterprise Console 5.1
    Windows Server 2008 R2 - Standard users no admin rights

Thanks in advance
    Tom

Thank Post
    If anyone has any suggestions I'd be grateful. Slowly running out of ideas and at the moment have to choose between Internet Access and Anti-Virus...

Thanks
    Tom

Thank Post
    Have you spoken to Sophos ??

Thank Post
    What's your SRP looking like? Sounds like you're blocking some of the sophos exe's and seeing they create an internal proxy once it's blocked you'll lose access etc.

Steve

Thank Post
    Thanks for the replies!

The only thing I can see that could block it is the path rules, and as \Program Files and \Program Files(x86) is unrestricted it shouldn't stop anything running - unless the exe's are somewhere else that I can't see.