+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, Hyper-v Host restarts in Technical; Hi Guys, Quick question, i have 150 windows updates waiting to be installed on each of my two Hyper-v hosts ...
    Thank Post

Question Hyper-v Host restarts

Hi Guys,

Quick question, i have 150 windows updates waiting to be installed on each of my two Hyper-v hosts (Server 2008 R2), however i don't want to just restart them without making sure I'm doing things right. I'm fairly new to Hyper-v as i have been using VMWare in my previous position.

There isn't enough memory on either host to live migrate machines across the cluster to avoid down time (something i intend on fixing soon)

Is it safe to just restart the hosts one by one when no-one is using the system? Do i need to shut down the VM's manually before restarting the host?

Many thanks and happy halloween!
    Last edited by Darylrese; 31st October 2013 at 06:42 PM.

Thank Post
    Definitely shut down the guest VMs first.

Make sure you have a decent off host backup, 150 updates is a lot to apply in a oner.

Thank Post
    Thank-you. Just taken over at a new school and playing catchup I might delay the restart until another time as backup has been playing up a bit too

Thank Post
    Very wise if you're not sure re the backup!

Good luck, have a nice evening.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,212 Times in 761 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kmount View Post
    Definitely shut down the guest VMs first.
    May I ask what your reasoning is? In 4 years I have never shut down guest VMs before restarting a Hyper-V host. However, I've been applying updates monthly rather than doing that many in one go. Is the number of updates factoring into your recommendation?

Thank Post
    Sure, a valid question.