+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, Group Policy Server 2008 R2 - Desktop Wallpaper XP Clients in Technical; Hi and thanks in advance for any assistance with this issue. I am new to Group Policy and am very ...

Thank Post

Question Group Policy Server 2008 R2 - Desktop Wallpaper XP Clients

Hi and thanks in advance for any assistance with this issue. I am new to Group Policy and am very much in the beginners learning group in this respect. I would like to apply a desktop background to a specific Classroom set of XP Pro computers. I have copied the jpg file to the local c:\windows\web\wallpaper folder (I believe using the server UNC path is not a good idea as the image is copied across the network on each logon and increases traffic greatly) and referenced this in the GPO applicable to this OU. However, the wallpaper never appears. I have logged off and restarted numerous times and run gpupdate to no avail. If I try and right click on the desktop and select properties it tells me that restrictions are in place so I cannot do anything. I know I have missed something but don't know what - all help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you. PS. I have only just joined the school and there are absolutely no network docs so I am working in the dark somewhat - but like the challenge 8-)

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,451 Times in 998 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Off the top of my head: users may not have access to the local folder. Easy as it is to say, Event Viewer will give you clues.

Better way: use BGInfo . Set a background, add some details to be displayed, save as a .bgi file and run bginfo.exe filename.bgi /timer:0 /NOLICPROMPT /SILENT as a logon script.

Thank Post