+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, Security Zones and Content Ratings GPO in Technical; Hi guys, I am new here. I am an IT Technician for a Residential Treatment facility and school. I am ...

Thank Post

Security Zones and Content Ratings GPO

Hi guys, I am new here. I am an IT Technician for a Residential Treatment facility and school. I am trying to lock down our residents where they can only go to 2 websties and those 2 only. I am trying to do this via GPO, I have messed with the Security Zone and content ratings, but I have the issue that some of our staff use the same computers as the residents, so when the log in, they are also getting the restriction. I have added just the residents to the Security Filtering section and took out the authenticated users. I am at a loss right now on what else to try. I have it applied to a OU where I only have a test resident account to verify it works(which I am only applying the GPO to that OU.)

I followed the following instructions and have been searching everywhere for a solution.

Restricting Specific Web Sites in Internet Explorer Using Group Policy :: Authentication, Access Control & Encryption :: Articles & Tutorials :: WindowSecurity.com

Any help would be greatfull!!!

Also we are running 2008 R2 and have windows 7 clients.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,510 Times in 1,206 Posts
    Have you considered a free filtering option such as OpenDNS? It's very good for this sort of thing.

Thank Post
    I have thought about it, but how would OpenDNS know the difference if it is a staff or a resident?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,510 Times in 1,206 Posts
    From memory I think you can override by entering a password (if you're a staff member), but I may be thinking of something else. I suppose another consideration is different VLANs or your own proper internal filtering solution. I suppose it also depends on your budget also.

Thank Post