+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2008 R2 Thread, Disappearing Folder Names in Technical; ...

Thank Post

Disappearing Folder Names

Hi
    I am a bit of a novice managing networks. I work at a school that has an 2008 R2 Server with XP workstations -with plans to reimage to Windows 7 this year. I have been testing a few things and find the biggest issue is with folder redirection and folder names.

I found that after a user logs onto a windows 7 workstation – and then you go to the shared folder location on the server – in this case …. \\server\students .... from a win 7 box and also on the 08 server - you see 'My documents' folders listed – among the list of names eg for a user 'sam green' ... as in ......
    max smith
    melinda jones
    My documents (Sam's folder)
    nathan brown
    etc etc
    so the user name eg 'sam green' is no longer there - replaced by 'My Documents' - and as more users log in - more names go to be replaced by more 'My Documents' folders

Then on an XP box – browsing to \\server\students you do see the user 'sam green' but with a different icon - folder icon with an envelope in it.

I was hoping to work out how I can structure things so we can still see the actual names of the student on their home folder on a win 7 box. Many staff like to go into their students folders to edit, monitor etc – so would find this tricky.

I understand it may be the way folder redirection is set up – but it needs to work in an existing shared environment with already existing users and home folders.

I hope this is explained clearly enough.

Thankyou

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,616 Times in 1,446 Posts
    Variius threads with workarounds etc... But the proper fix is to have username\documents and redirect my documents to the sub folder.

Ben

3. Thanks to plexer from:

TheydonBois (28th February 2013)

Thank Post
    From the Windows 7 Gotcha Thread, this explains it nicely

When viewing redirected folders share you may see many "My Documents"