The Creator Owner NTFS permission is applied to the root of a shared directory. This directory is used generally by everybody and I was wondering is it necessary? I know that the Creator Owner gives a user full control over the file/folder he/she creates but, realistically, it's not a worry if another person comes along and deletes it. However, if the creator owner permission is applied then another user cannot delete said file/folder.

Frankly, do you have it applied to your shared directories other than individual user areas?