+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Windows Server 2000/2003 Thread, 2nd server cock up syndrome in Technical; Hi All OK, OK this could be classed as my fault, but I'm really a newbie when it comes to ...

Thank Post

2nd server cock up syndrome

Hi All

OK, OK this could be classed as my fault, but I'm really a newbie when it comes to servers, AD, etc. I can manage the process OK, but I'm not what I'd call an edugeek :0)

In a nutshell I look after two schools and we had a Windows 2003 Server R2 machine in both so that we could utilise AD to manage users, lockdown the PCs with GPO, shares for teachers, shares for pupils, etc. Nice and basic.

After 3 years or so we thought it best to buy new servers with better specs, new warranty, etc and put them in. This is where we got caught out. Originally, one school bought a server from say company A and the other school bought their server from company B. This time we bought both servers from company B.

The first installation that had a company A server and then a company B server seemed to move over fine. My plan was that after transferring all of the profile/My Docs and 'shares' data from the old server to the new server, I would 'downgrade/demote' the old server to basically a file server so that this could store the bulk of the multimedia crap (ie video, music and pics) that they produce and the new/main server would only hold the profile/My docs data and leaner shares data.

To get the client PCs to 'see/use' the new PC my idea was to 'undomain' them (ie put them on workgroup of FRED), restart, add them to the domain, restart and then we'd be up-and-running. I just thought that would be the process. Nice and simple.