+ Post New Thread
Windows Server 2000/2003 Thread, FSMO query for MS exam in Technical; I'm studying and have a theoretical question: I know that there are 5 FSMO roles and there should be one ...

Thank Post

FSMO query for MS exam

I'm studying and have a theoretical question:

I know that there are 5 FSMO roles and there should be one instance of each FSMO role (though I think it may be possible to duplicate *some* of them and distribute them amongst DCs). I know that the FSMO roles can be moved from one DC to another, but what if the DC holding one or more of the FSMO roles dies (perhaps there's been a water leak in the server room)? Would I be absolutely st****d? I've heard of seizing the role, but if the hard drive holding the FSMO role is dead, surely I wouldn't be able to seize the role anyway?

A supplemetary question - what if just the system disk (or partition) of the PDC died? Would I have to reinstall and hope that the BDC would step in to recreate everything for me? Is this a time where I should consider mirroring the system partition on the PDC (and probably the BDC)?

I hasten to add that I've never faced these scenarios, I'm just thinking laterally about what MS might throw at me in an exam.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Ignatius View Post
    I'm studying and have a theoretical question:

I know that there are 5 FSMO roles and there should be one instance of each FSMO role (though I think it may be possible to duplicate *some* of them and distribute them amongst DCs). I know that the FSMO roles can be moved from one DC to another, but what if the DC holding one or more of the FSMO roles dies (perhaps there's been a water leak in the server room)? Would I be absolutely st****d? I've heard of seizing the role, but if the hard drive holding the FSMO role is dead, surely I wouldn't be able to seize the role anyway?